Skip to content

Changes

February 8, 2010

I was thinking about my anxieties again last night.  I claim to have no will power, and practically use it as a crutch when I fail- blaming my lack of willpower rather than just saying- okay, one slip up is okay, just get back on track, no big deal…

Maggie said it well- “We base our anxieties and worries on our own histories. Just because something happened yesterday, and the day before, and the day before that, and … – does not mean that it has to happen today.”

I keep looking to other people for inspiration because I can’t seem to find my own motivation. You’d think having a co-worker ask if I am pregnant would be enough motivation for me to work toward those Carrie Underwood legs… errr…no. If it was nice out a 5+ mile walk would have helped. I can’t wait for spring. SAD is kicking in. I would love for some advice on how to kick the wintery blues.

Lent starts on Wednesday, February 17. I’m trying to decide what I’ll give up this year. I was thinking I’d give up dining out. This would stop me from buying a coffee a day, and little snacks here and there. Ben and I don’t go out to eat that much, it’s the soy lattes, fruit strips and Chinese take-out that add up. Or I was thinking of giving up meat, but I don’t think Ben would be on board with me, and it’s really hard to cook for two as it is. Maybe I’ll give up dairy. That would be really tough. I love cheese! One year I gave up condiments and “toppings”, that was surprisingly difficult, but very do-able. I love peanut butter and buttered popcorn.  What if I gave up a habit, maybe TV or Internet at home? I have a little over a week to decide. I want it to be a big challenge.

Decisions. Decisions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 4:01 pm

    SAD kicks me in the butt :(

    I’m glad you liked my post – you say it well too! I claim to have no willpower and use it as an excuse to just give in. I’m trying not to! I would like to overcome that :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

