Skip to content

Whitefish, Montana

February 11, 2010

Family ski trip in the making and it looks like we’re going to Whitefish. I won a trip for two back in November at the Minneapolis Ski and Snowboard Expo. My dad was able to make a deal with the resort so the whole family can go. Yay!

Posted 02/09/2010 - Oh Boy - Fred Frost is out here everyday making turns and having a great time. Photo by Kat Gebauer. Bigmtnphotos.com

Time to start pounding the ski-friendly workouts! I’ve been doing plenty of leg workouts to get my running legs back, but I think it’s about time to add some more squats and lunges into the mix. Ben asked me to find him some of the best leg workouts for skiing. I’ve made a compilation from the gallery of workout images at SKI Magazine.

I would [and probably should] go into more detail for each image, but I can remember how to do each, and can answer any questions. I printed out each image and I’m going to tape them to the wall in our basement near our workout equipment. I’m going to tape a straight line down the middle of the basement and do some of the plyometric workouts using the line, and will probably tape some dots on the floor as well to do some of the jumping plyometric workouts I remember from my sprint training and downhill racing days.

This is my favorite:

Doing the whole dot drill (5 separate drills with 5 repetitions each) should take anywhere from 40-70 seconds depending on your skill level. Do anywhere from 2-4 sets.

Up and Back

- Start with feet on D & E

- Jump to C with both feet, then one foot each on A & B

- Come back by going back down to C with both feet, then D & E.

- Repeat 4 more times

Right Foot

- Jump to dot A, B, C, D, E and back, E, D, C, B, A.

- Repeat 4 more times.

Left Foot

- Jump to dot A, B, C, D, E and back, E, D, C, B, A.

- Repeat 4 more times

The nice thing about the dot exercise is that you really can do any pattern you want! Plyometrics are my favorite.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:11 am

    Thanks for posting the leg workout. I will give it a try! I tend to just run, and do core, so this will be a great addition.
    Happy running and be safe skiing,
    Rundad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

