Skip to content

So sweet

November 17, 2009

I have a sweet tooth and it’s making my belly ache.  I’ve decided to give up sweets until I lose 10 lbs. No candy, dessert, muffins, scones, or anything else like cake. Done. It’s my game, my rules.

I love cookies. When I say love, I mean love; not like or crave. I LOVE COOKIES. Chewy, crispy, chocolate, sugar, molasses…. you name it. I’ve been told that our bodies do not really crave salt, but can crave sugar. Is this true? If so, I have a reason to say I can’t help myself, right? Anyway, I’ve given up sweets in the past. It’s not that hard for me to do. But, when I’m not working towards a goal or prize, I have no motivation to avoid them. So, my motivation- 10 pounds. Done.

I know weight loss takes some exercise too, I’m going in on Monday to have my knees check out. I can walk around the lake and up and down the stairs at work for now. I wish I had the knees, athletic ability and the stamina like Steve so I could run insanely fast. This guy is intense and I enjoy reading his running/triathlon blog. His athleticism is inspiring. Ben massaged my legs last night, my knees feel substantially better. I need to start doing more quad workouts to strengthen the muscles around my knees. Ack….so much work! But it’s better to put the time in now than develop arthritis when I’m 30.

I know I need a little sweetness, just so I don’t go bonkers on sweets when I can have them again (this is a trend.) I think I’ll be drinking a lot of tea with sweet, spicy and nutty flavors. I found an awesome Chai Tea recipe on Houseboat Eats. I changed it a bit because I like honey vs. sugar in my chai.

____________________________________________________________

Chai Spices, photo by Houseboat Eats

Chai Spices, photo by Houseboat Eats

Spicy Chai

  • 4 cups water
  • 1½ Tbsp fresh ginger, chopped or 1 Tbsp dried ginger
  • 2 tsp green cardamom pods, crushed
  • 1 tsp whole cloves, crushed
  • ½ – 1 tsp black peppercorns, crushed
  • ½ – 1 tsp dried orange peel
  • 4 berries, whole allspice
  • 1 – 2 whole star anise
  • 1 stick cinnamon, about 3-4 inches, broken into pieces
  • ½ cup milk (or half and half)
  • 1 Tbsp Brooke Bond red label tea, or Assam black tea
  • 2 – 3 Tbsp Honey (original recipe called for dark muscavado sugar, or dark brown sugar)

Put the water in a saucepan and add crushed spices. Bring to a boil over high heat. As soon as the water comes to a boil (or even just before) turn the heat down very low, and simmer for about 10 to 15 minutes.  This will affect the degree of flavor from the spices, so adjust according to your tastes. Add the milk and the tea and let simmer again for about 3 to 5 minutes, depending on how strongly you want the tea to infuse.Remove from heat, strain into a bowl, and add the honey to taste.

Serves 2 to 4


Spicy Chai, photo by Houseboat Eats

Spicy Chai, photo by Houseboat Eats

____________________________________________________________

So, that’s that. Hopefully I can stay strong through the weekend while I’m in Seattle. Oh yeah, I’m going to Seattle. My friend Maddie is pregnant and a bunch of my friends from UW are having a baby shower for her. I missed her wedding years ago, so I’m very happy I can make it to this big event! Yay babies 🙂

Later dudes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

